Ten Miles of London

Yesterday I found myself back in London, with a plan to wander about looking for more of the painted elephants that are currently making an appearance around the capital. Unfortunately, I am this trip, without my map, but I’ve done this a few times now so I didn’t think there would be a problem following my nose. There wasn’t really, the problem was with the direction my nose was pointing in the first place so I found myself in an estate with flats and a little park. But lost is not necessarily bad as I happened on a canal full of barges and the like. Little Venice it seems – I didn’t even know the place existed. Even better, there was a floating café who sold me a cup of tea and managed to direct me back to a place where I was less lost – effectively back where I started

 

Apart from bagging a few elephants, I passed a few interesting things, a totum pole based on the seven ages of man in Blackfriars, India house (I’ve walked past it before but never thought to look up at that moment), the spectacular, even obscenely rich  Oratory of St Philip Neri, and unashamedly cute duckling, bandaged trees linked to the Maison Martin Margiela (?, me neither) exhibition on the Embankment and a knitted Moomin. This was accompanied by an exceptionally large custard doughnut and a cup of McDonald’s tea (a Kensington McDonald’s cup of tea mind you). By the time I’d trudged my way to Victoria for my bus I was truly uncomfortable of the foot (plural) and much relieved to have a timeslot before the bus just the right size to slot a pint of good old Black Sheep best bitter into. No great time to stand and type as this machine is playing up with MSN so have to dash round to the library where I have some internet time booked – hopefully get this posted and a great pile of pictures. Catch up with you all on Thursday when I shall once again be bobbing up and down on the ocean.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ten Miles of London

  1. Curiosity says:

    You do get about a bit don\’t you! And very glad we are that you do.

  2. Arlene says:

    I sadly don\’t have enough time to look at all your interesting photos, one day I\’ll catch up. enjoyed the elephants.

  3. Europa's says:

    Your nose has some very strange ideas about where it should lead you! Block of flats and a park?!! However the important thing was you did mangage to find a floating cup of tea…;) Wouldn\’t have been able to cope with a McD\’s cuppa tho! Urggggh!!! However…a totem pole? In the middle of London? lol…how come I\’ve never seen it then!! Mustn\’t have had enough tea to drink! 😉

  4. Ayrgael - says:

    Thank you for another interesting tour. Poor trees hope they are better soon and love the narrow boat.Safe journey and bon voyage xx

  5. Cassie says:

    So are you just loving the new and improved Windows Live (now with fluoride)???

  6. Sandy says:

    Bliss, a computer that works and types all the letters – actually it\’s so brand new that I\’ve just had the pleasure of peeling the plastic stuff off the keyboardBut general apologies for the delay – no internet in the lab and likely to be the same for a couple of weeks yet.

  7. Sandy says:

    The totum pole is up an otherwise unpleasant street in the Blackfriers area (just up from the Blackfriers pub if that helps) – my map is still 400 miles away, only this time in the opposite direction so I can\’t be more accurate just now.Nothing wrong with Macdonalds tea – mind you, their foods not so good.

  8. Sandy says:

    Nothing wrong with Macdonalds tea – mind you, their foods not so good.Cassie – haven\’t had a good go at the new windows live from a decent computer yet but it looks a nightmare!!Thank you all for commenting and I\’ll pass your best wishes on to the poor trees next time I\’m passing

  9. Sandy says:

    Darn nabbit – had to put my comment up in 3 bits – I\’m sure you could put up bigger comments before!!!!

  10. ' says:

    Don\’t know about the comments….. but it took me 2 hours to upload me new photo album today….. What a headache!

  11. Catherine Mary says:

    All the places you go are so fascinating…….I hate the thing about doing comments in three bits, too…I think sometimes getting lost leads to much more interesting things than if you hadn\’t…

  12. Catherine Mary says:

    ..I also love the elephants..different and weird…good blog my friend..

Leave a comment