I’ll take a P please Bob – shaken not stirred

I was sitting reading the paper at tea break time – Daily Mail, only a day old, if you must know – when I discovered a tremendous urban myth and had it dispelled in one foul stroke. How I would have liked it to be true. It seems that a large portion of the public have been persuaded that Bob Holness from Blockbusters (if anyone under 30 is passing by, grab an oldie and ask) played the saxophone riff on Gerry Rafferty’s Baker Street. I’ll leave you for a minute to think about that……..I’m very sorry but he just didn’t, it was a guy called Raf Ravenscroft who had long curley 1970’s hair.
 
It just so happens that last week we were sitting round the mess room table trying to list the actors who played James Bond – it helps drowning out Terry Wogan on the radio. We were feeling very smug with ourselves because we had managed to remember the often forgotten David Niven but now I discover, and it does go a long way for making up for the fact he didn’t have an illustrious sax life, the Bob Holness also played James Bond – on South African radio back in the beginning of his career.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment