On the Trail of Five Red herrings

I would have to start this by saying that the title here is a little misleading, for indeed to do to follow the trail of the Five Red Herrings properly I would need a car of some description, preferably a 1920s Daimler, a stolen bicycle and for the most pedantic a reconstruction of Galloway’s railway system as it was before Dr Beeching. It is actually by complete coincidence that in the same week that I read Dorothy L Sayers’ Five Red Herrings (Thanks for the pointer Cassie), I am off to Gatehouse of Fleet anyway. I can’t say I’m a big reader of the who-done-it genre but it was good to read a book about places I know well even if I would have been a lot less confused if I’d had a 1930s railway timetable for the area in front of me. Have a look through the album of pictures – little has changed in Gatehouse and Kirkcudbright in the last century or so, so what you see today are pretty much the same scenes as would have happened in the book. And since I haven’t been up to Creetown, Girvan and all the other wee places mentioned, I think you can forgive me for not including a photo of left luggage at Euston station when I pass through the smoke tomorrow.

The original reason for going to Gatehouse was to see an exhibition of portraits by Kim Ayres at the Mill on the Fleet. Kim has been playing the Mandolin at folk sessions since shortly after I came down here and is also a fellow blogger. Recently he has moved his photography hobby up a level or two, leading to his current exhibition of warts and all faces – not that everyone has warts (says me backpeddling quickly before I get into trouble) but he does like faces of character. Do judge for yourself, visit ot his website at  http://kimayres.co.uk/ or his blog at http://kimayres.blogspot.com/ Not content in giving me Kim’s exhibition there was another cracker downstairs, in an exhibition of paintings or paintings merged with photographs by Aaron Watson based on standing stones and cup and ring markings – quite frankly if I’d a criminal bent and a decent get a way car, it would have been an exhibition of empty walls.

Before the bus back to Kirkcudbright, there was still time for a toasted teacake and a cup of tea (there’s no need to turn an outing into a tealess ordeal) and I thought a wee wander out to Cardoness castle. Unfortunately, what I thought was the right general direction brought me out on the Cally Palace golf course and Cardoness castle appearing a couple of miles away through the trees, albeit rather picturesquely. Never mind, it was the finest day of weather of the year so far, just perfect for a stroll along a riverside and through bluebell woods.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On the Trail of Five Red herrings

  1. Sandy says:

    If I seem a bit absent from here in the last week or so it\’s because I have been – had to pop round to the library to post this blog – normal service will be resumed in a few days.

  2. Ayrgael - says:

    If you get the chance the Gemrock Museum at Creetown is spectacular and Girvan has several brilliant events which we used to attend regularly, the harbour festival, and the Folk festival in particular, carrying on up the coast the industrial Museum at Dalmellington used to be well worth a visit as did Culzean castle (I was in a film that was made there). Lots of brillliant little places half hidden in the carrick hills…..ahhhh fond memories of another life.

  3. Catherine Mary says:

    That is an odd coincidence, Sandy, but sounds like you had a really great time, even when you didin\’t get to Cardoness…will check out your photos presently…hope your service is back to normal soon..

  4. Europa's says:

    LoL 😉 No Sandy…no need at all to turn an outing into a tealess ordeal!! 😉 It was a most enjoyable outing via your photos thank you…and I especially enjoyed our happy little wander through the bluebell woods! The castle and the steam train were a great time-travelling experience…it was very atmospheric and interesting to travel back through the mists of time on this part of the outing! 🙂

  5. Kim Ayres says:

    Hope you enjoyed the exhibition, Sandy. Now, when are we going to get your portrait done?

  6. Sandy says:

    Thoroughly enjoyed your exhibition Kim- in fact the whole day was rather good. Been a bit disrupted on my travels for the last few months between one thing and the other but back to normal now so should be able to catch up with you on my next trip Kim.The gem rock museum in Creetown is worth a visit but haven\’t managed to get myself to the Givan folk festival yet Sarah-Ellen (I here good reports about this often)

  7. Cassie says:

    I understand how people feel about the "whodunit" genre—-especially some of the more recent practitioners of the art. But time spent in the company of Lord Peter Wimsey is never wasted—the books are a glimpse into a period of history as much as they are mysteries—and doubly valuable for this reason.

  8. Cassie says:

    oh…must add,,,if you haven\’t yet downloaded and listened to the delightful BBC adaptation on my skydrive—do give it a try. They are very well done. Ian Carmichael is perfect as Lord Peter and Peter Jones is a delight as Bunter https://cid-933f5a04c51c4305.skydrive.live.com/browse.aspx/Cass%5E4s%20BBC%20Radio%20Collection gets you in…if you are in my network. And you are.

Leave a comment